Essentialism: Doing More With Less

Scott Davidson
4 min readOct 22, 2021

If you don’t prioritize your life then someone else will prioritize it for you.

My view from a night hike in the Mojave Desert

Have you experienced days, weeks or even longer of feeling completely overwhelmed by the stuff you need to do? Have you said yes to doing something and later regretted it? Are you missing out on the things you want to do because of other obligations? If so, then maybe the idea of essentialism is for you.

The reality is, if you don’t prioritize your life then someone else will prioritize your life for you.

Before we move forward, I want this up front. Look, I am certainly not a life coach, but I do believe this idea I am about to share is interesting and might benefit you.

In my life, I’ve been so overwhelmed with stuff I felt like I had to do that I began to break down a little bit. The quicker I finished tasks, the more I added to my to-do list. My days were filled with poor time management, working with people I didn’t want to work with, buying stuff I didn’t need, spending time conversing with others I didn’t particularly want to be around, immediately responding…

--

--

Scott Davidson

Sharing stories that impact your soul. Deliberately minimal and powerfully adaptive | This is a True Story Podcast | Living Adaptive | Adventure Athlete | Vegas